A 90 day burn ban has been issued for Rains County.

The Rains County Commissioner’s Court issued the ban Thursday after Governor Rick Perry included Rains, as well as 243 other counties in the state disaster areas threatened by extreme fire hazard. Wood County, Upshur County and Van Zandt County are all included in the governor’s list of threatened counties. With high winds and dry conditions in East Texas, experts ask the public to use caution when setting off fireworks through the rest of the holiday season and especially New Year’s Eve.

The National Council on Fireworks advises wetting down all areas where fireworks are being used before and after use, as well as wetting the actual device after use; preferably in a bucket not on the ground.

Other bans may be issued in weeks to come.




mineola_jewelers_ad kulp_steel
lct_ad texas_star_loans
thrivebutton duncanmm